Scott Virden Anderson, MD

Increase font size Decrease font size Default font size Skip to content
Elmer Green – Yogi + Scientist, part 1 PDF Print E-mail

During May I read through The Osawkie Book of the Dead – Alzheimer’s isn’t what you think it is by psychophysiology pioneer Elmer Green PhD. I was moved to do this for several reasons:  I feel I’ve been a student of Elmer’s since I first discovered biofeedback in college in the spring of 1968;  I was looking forward to attending – for the first time in nearly 15 years – the ISSSEEM Conference that he founded, hoping perhaps to connect with him there;  I’d seen references to the book in the ISSSEEM newsletter Bridges that made clear the book revealed a very different side of Elmer than the one I’d known to date; and I’m curiously drawn to enormous books that others have heard about but rarely have the time to actually read.

Osawkie is 873 large format, easy to read pages, broken into three volumes.  It consists of a minimally-edited but well-organized and indexed compilation of contemporaneous journal entries, dream diaries, reflections, and letters to his four children covering the whole of Elmer’s long and colorful career with his wife Alyce, including his caretaking of her long terminal illness beginning gradually in the late ‘80s until her passing on Aug 4th 1994 and much since.  The book is published by the LA based Philosophical Research Society founded by mystic and occultist Manly P. Hall in 1934.  

Osawkie provides an in-depth and fascinating look “behind the scenes” of a pioneer of particular importance, in my view, to the Yoga Science.  In it, Elmer reveals himself for the first time as a Yogi of some considerable accomplishment.  Almost exactly 30 years my elder, Elmer’s innovative work in science took place as I was coming of age and it has always seemed to resonate over the years since, no doubt in large part, because of the inner Yogic mutuality that was hidden until now.